Fischer, Bonney win 2014 Jostens Trophy

More news about: Hobart | Marymount

Katelyn Fischer of Marymount and Hobart's Richie Bonney are the recipients of the 2014 Jostens Trophy. The annual awards recognize outstanding student-athletes in NCAA Division III basketball for excellence in the classroom, on the playing court and in the community.

The Jostens Trophy is a joint creation of Jostens, Inc., of Minneapolis, and the Rotary Club of Salem, Va. The purpose of the award is to honor the true Division III student-athlete -- the athlete that shows excellence in the classroom, on the playing floor and in the community. In addition to the Trophy, the Wooldridge Scholarship, a $1,000 donation, will be presented in the name of the winner to his/her institution. The scholarship was named after Dan Wooldridge, a Salem Rotarian and retired commissioner of the Old Dominion Athletic Conference, as a way of honoring him for his long-time dedication to Division III athletics.

The winners were chosen by a national selection committee that consists of college coaches, former athletes, college administrators and selected members of the media. The members of the national selection committee cast their votes based on three criteria: basketball ability, academic prowess and community service.

The awards presentation for the Jostens Trophy is set for March 20, held in conjunction with the Salem Rotary Club's weekly meeting at the Salem Civic Center in Salem, Va.

Fischer, a native of Reisterstown, Md., helped guide the Saints to a 17-11 overall record and a trip to the Capital Athletic Conference Tournament, where they fell to 14th-ranked and top-seeded York, 73-65, in the semifinals. Fischer was recently named a First Team All-CAC member for the third straight year after dropping in 15.5 points per game, dishing out a conference-best 6.6 assists per outing, and grabbing 4.5 rebounds per night while shooting 83.2-percent from the foul line (second in the conference). For her career, Fischer set the CAC and school records for 3-pointers made (204) and set school records in career assists (575), three-point shooting percentage (40.1%) and free throw shooting percentage (82.5%). Additionally, she is third at Marymount in scoring (1,664) and sixth in steals (263).

Fischer’s accomplishments extend far beyond the court into the classroom and the community. In the classroom, Fischer sports a 3.97 grade point average as a Business major and has been a CAC All-Academic honoree the past three years. She was named a First Team Capital One/CoSIDA Academic All-American for the second consecutive year in 2014.

In the community, Fischer has spearheaded several events such as MU’s annual “Sock it to Me” drive to make care packages for Arlington’s local homeless shelter. She also helped raise over $7,000.00 for St. Jude Children’s Hospital through a walk-a-thon. Fischer, who is vice president for Marymount’s Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, also serves as a resident advisor and a peer tutor.

Bonney, a native of Norwich, N.Y., helped lead the Statesmen to a 22-7 overall record and their second-straight Liberty League Tournament championship. Hobart then defeated No. 21 University of Scranton in the first round of the NCAA Division III Men’s Basketball Tournament, 94-81, before falling to Morrisville State, 86-75, in the second round.

The 2014 Liberty League Player of the Year and a two-time First Team All-Liberty League selection, Bonney recorded 20.4 points per game (second in the conference) and grabbed a league-best 11.0 rebounds per contest. He also logged 21 double-doubles, which is the second best mark in the nation. His 234 field goals made are the second most by a Statesman in a season, while his 591 points rank fifth on Hobart's single-season scoring list. Bonney also holds Hobart career records for points (1,738), field goals made (680), field goal percentage (.583), and games played (114). He finished third in career rebounds (951) and fifth in free throws made (356).

Bonney is just as impressive in the classroom and in the community. In the classroom, Bonney boasts a 3.88 grade point average as a philosophy and public policy studies major. He is a two-time Capital One First Team Academic All-American and was voted the 2013-14 Capital One Academic All-America of the Year for Division III men's basketball. The three-time Liberty League All-Academic Team selection is a Druid and Chimera, Hobart's senior class and junior class honor societies, respectively.

In the community, Bonney has served as a pre-orientation leader for groups of incoming first-years during each of the past two summers, volunteering at Habitat for Humanity build sites in Geneva. He has helped with team basketball clinics in a local elementary school as well as an annual on campus basketball clinic for Ontario ARC.

The Jostens Trophy was first awarded in 1998. The full list of recipients:

Year Men Women
1998 Michael Nogelo, Williams Alicia Moore, Emory
1999 Michael Shantz, Hamilton             Kristen Venne, Susquehanna
2000 Korey Coon, Illinois Wesleyan Alia Fischer, Washington U.
2001 David Jannuzzi, Wilkes                       Alison Grubbs, Lake Forest
2002 Adam Jones, Buena Vista             Heather Kile, Swarthmore
2003 Derek Reich, Chicago      Whitney Bull, Wilkes
2004 Justin Call, Emory and Henry           Kay Mikolajczak, UW-Oshkosh
2005 Jon-David Byers, Lebanon Valley              Tara Rohde, Trinity (Texas)
2006 Chris Braier, Lawrence   Megan Silva, Randolph-Macon
2007 Ryan Cain, WPI Lisa Winkle, Calvin
2008 Troy Ruths, Washington U. Tarra Richardson, McMurry
2009 Jimmy Bartolotta, MIT   Melanie Auguste, Colorado College
2010 Blake Schultz, Williams   Julia Hirssig, UW-Stout
2011 Steve Djurickovic, Carthage               Elizabeth Sunderhaus, Cedar Crest
2012 Aris Wurtz, Ripon      Taylor Simpson, Chicago
2013 Colton Hunt, Randolph Carissa Verkaik, Calvin
2014 Richie Bonney, Hobart Katelyn Fischer, Marymount