Pointers win fourth national title

More news about: UW-Stevens Point
UW-Stevens Point took a page from baseball tradition and ended the 2015 season in a dogpile after its win.
Photo by Keith Lucas for D3sports.com 

UW-Stevens Point broke open a close game with a 15-2 run late in the first half, during which the Pointers forced four turnovers. The Pointers extended that lead to 21 points early in the second half, and Augustana never got closer than nine points the rest of the way as Stevens Point won the 2015 Division III basketball national championship, 70-54.

In front of 3,138 fans, many of whom made the trip from Wisconsin to root on the Pointers, four UW-SP players scored in double figures, led by Austin Ryf's 17 points and five assists. Plus, he and the rest of the team's defense held Augustana All-America guard Hunter Hill to 13 points on 4-for-11 shooting.

“We’re a defensive team,” said coach Bob Semling. “For four decades we’ve had this defensive system. It’s not the easy way, it’s the tough way. And yet these guys bought into it. They committed fully to being a great defensive team.”

Austin Ryf, named the Most Outstanding Player of the championship, finished with a game-high 17 points. Joe Ritchay added 15, while Stephen Pelkofer scored 14 points and Alex Richard added 12 in the win.

Ryf was joined on the All-Tournament team by teammates Pelkofer and Ritchay, as well as Hill and Babson's Joey Flannery.