All-Region teams announced

All-Region honorees photos by Caleb Williams, Larry Radloff, Dean Reid


The 2017-18 All-Region teams have been announced.

Players were nominated for these awards by the Sports Information Directors at the various schools. There were more than 680 players nominated nationwide. The ballot was then made available to SIDs, who voted for a predetermined number of players in their region. 

It's the 17th season has named All-Region teams.

The regional Rookie of the Year award honors the top freshman in each region, while also names a regional Coach of the Year.

Regions that have fewer than 40 Division III teams have two teams. The Northeast, which is nearly twice that size, has four teams, while all other regions have three teams. The regions, including the regional player of the year:

Men's Regions Women's Regions
Northeast: Jake Ross, Springfield Northeast: Kate Kerrigan, Bowdoin
East: Jonathan Patron, Plattsburgh State East: Kaitlyn Read, New York U.
Atlantic: Tyheim Monroe, Cabrini Atlantic: Katie Sire, Montclair State
Middle Atlantic: Brandon Federici, Franklin and Marshall Middle Atlantic: Bridgette Mann, Scranton
South: James Contreras Jr., Averett South: Kelly Williams, Randolph-Macon
Great Lakes: Nate Axelrod, Ohio Wesleyan Great Lakes: Madison Temple, Thomas More
Central: Aston Francis, Wheaton (Ill.) Central: Jen Dowden, Wisconsin Lutheran
West: Collin Olmscheid, Augsburg West: Katie Sommer, Wartburg